What is Autism? What is life like for Autistics and their loved ones?


Today I thought I would do something a little different. Because we have a few people looking at our blog that don’t use Facebook, I thought I would post some of the valuable information I have found on the web and Facebook. I will keep adding to this page as I find really useful information that applies to our kiddos ☺️

What is Autism?

Autism Simulator

What does Autism feel like?

8 second rule

Why writing hurts

Words for words Autism Poems

What is scripting?

What is ABA?

High anxiety

Sensory Diet

Sensory simulator #1

Sensory simulator #2

8 Comments

Leave a Comment

  1. Hi! There is some really great info here, although I have to say that I do not agree with the description of ABA. ABA is the most effective treatment for teaching non-verbal children with autism to talk. ABA is not only about creating “socially acceptable” behaviors – far from it. It is about helping the child live his best possible life – which unfortunately, he will not be able to do if he has a list of violent behaviors against others, or self-injurious behaviors, that prevent him from going to school, spending quality time with his family and making friends. Also, ABA practitioners stopped using punishment in their programs long ago. If this is still happening, choose another practitioner! I am the first one to say that ABA programs can sometimes be very rigid – that is why I use Montessori & Waldorf approaches to teach my little learners rather than a strict form of ABA – but in terms of finding the function of difficult (for the learner!) behaviors and reducing them and building verbal communication, there is no better program out there! I respect different opinions, but families selecting a program for their kids will really be missing out if they refuse ABA all together. I am leaving this (very long!) comment hoping that it is helpful for families. Thank you for sharing this wonderful list! πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you Hunny! You know I always value your comments and your professional opinion. Sadly, in our experience we have not yet found an ABA practitioner who treated our boys with respect. As you say, everybody has their own opinion. Ours is that if you get to the route of the cause of the behaviour, the behaviour will change rather than teaching them to ignore it and conform. Why do you think I follow your blog? And read your posts? I so wish we could meet some day. You are different than the usual ABA therapist. I really respect your approach to therapy. Your whole ethos!

      1. Thanks so much! I really appreciate your response. I am also really glad you follow my blog. πŸ™‚ I love yours too and I would LOVE to meet one day! It’s a shame that there is so much misleading information about ABA out there, and clearly some that abuse it’s power, 😦 because when used correctly, and in a way that respects the individual, it is such a great way to understand behavior and help our kiddos reach their learning goals! ❀

Leave a Reply

