Autism


indifferencetoambivalence

I have a brother, he’s 7 years younger than me, and he has autism.

I remember when my parents first found out, I was 9 years old and they told me. I don’t remember how I felt about it, I didn’t even really know what autism was. It didn’t bother me, it didn’t scare me – I was only 9 years old and I was still so ecstatic that I had a brother.

My brother is pretty ‘high functioning’ so he doesn’t have “as much” autism as other people with autism. Everyone with autism is different, if you’d be surprised, because people with autism are you know… people… ASD is the common acronym used for autism- it stands for Autism Spectrum Disorder. A spectrum – that’s what I mean when I say my brother has “less” autism than some other people. That being said, If you saw my brother, and…

View original post 694 more words

Leave a Reply

