Part 2: 10 Signs of High Functioning Autism that I missed


TheBamBlog

This is Part 2 of my three part series about the “10 signs of High Functioning Autism that I missed” in my son. If you missed part 1, where I discuss sensory issues and motor skills, click here!

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about why I missed these signs with my son. The reality is, I had a version of “Autism” in my head, what I thought Autism looked like. I thought that children with Autism didn’t develop speech (no words by 2-3 years old), didn’t interact with the world around them, exhibited stimming behaviors such as rocking or hand-flapping, or they developed normally for a time and then lost speech and relationship skills suddenly, usually between the ages of 2-3.

All of these things do happen and can be seen in children with Autism, but not always. Benji didn’t exhibit any of these issues or qualities.

His signs…

View original post 1,415 more words

3 Comments

Leave a Comment

    1. You took the words out of y mouth Hunny!!! Before Lucky was diagnosed at 30 months, we didn’t know anything about Autism. We always thought our first born was a “sensitive” baby, and he was just diagnosed when he was almost 7. There is such a fine line when it comes to “Autism Signs”. Out of our four children now looking back, it should have been obvious. But at the time it wasn’t. I absolutely loved these posts!!

Leave a Reply

